About ONN:

How we work  |  Staff  |  Governance  |  Working groups  |  Finance

Board of Directors

The ONN Board is the governing body that supports ONN through communications and strategic leadership. Members of the Board are stewards of the public benefit sector and the work that is being undertaken in relation to the sector. Board Members are not representative of their organization’s or sub-sector’s particular interests.

Michelle Baldwin, Pillar Nonprofit Network (Vice-Chair)
As Executive Director of Pillar Nonprofit Network, Michelle Baldwin is a strong community advocate with extensive experience in volunteer management, communications, training and fundraising. Michelle previously held positions with the Brain Tumour Foundation and Thames Valley Children’s Centre. She currently serves on the Boards of Huron University College and Emerging Leaders, and facilitates a variety of nonprofit related workshops. Michelle holds a Masters degree in Educational Psychology, a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology, as well as a Communications & Public Relations Professional Certificate from Western and a Volunteer Management Certificate from Fanshawe College.

L. Robin Cardozo (Chair)
Robin Cardozo is a Chartered Accountant and is also a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors. He has worked in senior positions in Canada’s not-for-profit sector, and has served on several Boards over the past 30 years. Most recently, Robin served SickKids Foundation as Chief Operating Officer. Next to government, SickKids Foundation is the largest funder of child health research, learning and care in Canada. For 12 years before that, Robin served as CEO of the Ontario Trillium Foundation. OTF is one of Canada’s largest grant-making foundations, with a mission to help build healthy and vibrant communities in Ontario. Prior to joining OTF, he served for more than a decade as CFO/COO at United Way Toronto. In addition to ONN, Robin currently serves on the Board of Soulpepper Theatre. He was born in Pakistan, and was educated in Pakistan and Britain. In 2013, he was awarded the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario’s Medal of Distinction in Public Administration.

Maureen Fair, West Neighbourhood House
Maureen is Executive Director of West Neighbourhood House, a multi-service neighbourhood centre in west Toronto. Her professional experience includes program design and management, community development, public policy development and advocacy strategies on issues such as income security, income inequality, and neighbourhood change. Maureen has been actively involved in ONN’s funding reform steering committee and forum.  She has a B.A. from Princeton University and a Master of Science in Planning from University of Toronto

Mark Frimpong

Peter Honeywell, Ottawa Arts Council
Peter is Executive Director of the Ottawa Arts Council. Beginning his career as a visual artist, Peter has established nonprofit organizations and arts cooperatives, held numerous board and committee positions with community organizations, as well as membership on a variety of municipal advisory panels and committees.  At the provincial level he has held Board, Chair and Steering Committee positions. He received the Sandra Tulloch Award for Innovation in the Arts in 2007, the Order of Ottawa in 2013, and was reappointed to the Ontario Minister’s Advisory Council for Arts and Culture in 2012.

Timothy Nash, Strategic Sustainable Investments
Timothy Nash is President of Strategic Sustainable Investments, blogs as The Sustainable Economist, and teaches economics at Sheridan College. As an expert on socially responsible investing, impact investing, and the green economy, he has been featured in The Globe & Mail, Advisor’s Edge Report, and Reuters, and has appeared on CBC’s The Lang & O’Leary Exchange. Timothy who holds a BA in Economics and a Master’s in Strategic Leadership towards Sustainability is the lead researcher for Ethical Market’s Green Transition Scoreboard® research report. He lives in Toronto and is often found cavorting about the Centre for Social Innovation.

Marg Stanowski, Springboard
Marg Stanowski is the Executive Director of Springboard. Prior to joining Springboard, Marg was a Professor of Law and Security at St. Clair College, the Executive Director of Volunteer Ontario and was one of Canada’s earlier female parole officers. She assumed progressively senior positions with Correctional Services Canada, including a superintendent role.  Marg is a passionate and award winning community volunteer. She currently sits on the national board of directors for MADD Canada and ProAction Cops and Kids and will soon re-join the Board of the Rotary Club of Toronto. She is an advisor with the Pine River Institute and has provided advice and input to curricula on criminal justice degree programs at Ryerson University and several community colleges.

Gina Uppal, MaRS Discovery District
Gina is currently an Associate at MaRS Discovery District, working with Studio Y. She supports program development and coaches young people aged 18-29 through a 8-month fellowship to develop youth into the types of learners, leaders, and innovators our world needs to navigate 21st-century challenges. Additionally, Gina sits on the National Youth Advisory Board for ‘Voices Against Violence’, a national CIHR study which explores issues of inequality, exclusion and belonging, identity, health and wellbeing as they affect youth in Canada. She is also running a research project with this group exploring social media as an avenue for rigorous youth engagement in policy development.

Policy Committee

The Policy Committee brings their expertise and experience in public policy and provides valuable feedback on the development of policy priorities set out by the ONN staff team.

Peter Cameron, The Ontario Co-operative Association
Robin Cardozo (ex-officio, ONN Board Chair)
Margie Carlson, Ontario Non-Profit Housing Association
Diane Davy, WorkInCulture
Peter Frampton, Learning Enrichment Foundation
Margaret Hancock, Family Service Toronto
Rob Howarth, Toronto Neighbourhood Centres
Sudip Minhas, Windsor Women Working with Immigrant Women
Carla Leon, United Church of Canada EDGE Network
Juliette Nicholet, Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres 
Ryan Noble, North York Harvest Food Bank
Brad Saunders, Community Living Toronto
Deborah Simon, Ontario Community Support Organization
Bill Sinclair, St. Stephen’s Community House